Wow…something big happened this week in the world of comic books.  Disney is buying Marvel for the low low price of 4 billion dollars.  That makes me wonder just how this will effect the Marvel universe as a whole.  Will Disney enforce their strict rules of morality on Stan and his talented team of writers and artists?  Or will they just sit back and rake in the profits?  Marvel’s stock has gone up lately at least in the movie department, coming off the huge success of Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk.  With an Iron Man sequel forthcoming and plans for The Avengers, Captain American and Thor moving forward, it will be interesting to see if Disney will insist on any future projects meet their approval.

I for one think that Disney should leave Marvel alone and let them keep making magic, both on the big screen and on the pages of Marvel Comics.  Being a big Iron Man fan I hope I won’t see a guest appearance by Mickey Mouse in a future issue of The Invincible Iron Man.  My message to Disney: keep your hands away from DC Comics.

Seth Rogan’s The Green Hornet has gone into production, right after news of a five month delay hit the web.  This flick so far has been plagued with issues with a director, losing their first choice of Kato and then rumors back and forth whether it would make it in front of a camera at all.  I was certainly surprised to read that production had begun.  Never being a big fan of Green Hornet to begin with, I will reserve judgment on it.  I love Seth Rogan so I will probably go see it.

I am behind big time on my comic reading.  I’ve got a stack of books almost a foot high to read, so any review I give at this point you’ve probably already read the book or have read another review of.  But I will mention that Batgirl #1 hit stands with a surprise under this particular cowl.  Stephanie Brown (aka Spoiler) has taken the cape and cowl from Cassandra Cain and is now the new bat in Gotham City.  Along with a new Dynamic Duo, Dick Greyson and Damien Wayne it looks as if the apparent death of Bruce Wayne has shaken up the Bat-Family to the core.  Barbara Gordon (formerly Batgirl now Oracle) isn’t at all happy with Stephanie’s choice to don the cape and cowl.  I loved how the story involved Stephanie’s personal life, trying to keep her late night crime fighting from her mother and trying to balance her new role as Batgirl and college. 

I was a little disappointed to see that Cassandra Cain has been replaced, but seeing how she isn’t dead, there is hope that one day she will come back to claim the costume again.  I wouldn’t be at all surprised if it coincides with a return of Bruce Wayne.  Come on now, do you really think he’s dead?

