Recently I have gotten back into playing Guild Wars pretty heavily.  In any game, especially one that has been out a while like Guild Wars, you get what I like to call “the regulars” and you get people who are new to the game usually called noobs or newbies.

I realized that even though I have been playing video games since I was a wee lil tot, when it came to Guild Wars, I was a newbie.  I was treated poorly and mostly ignored by the more experienced players.  So I realized that I didn’t like being labeled a “noob” and that I found the term rather offensive.  Then I made one of those “newbie mistakes” and was riddled with newbie insults and little MMO player jokes.  I was offended and my feelings were hurt…a little.  My small inner child wanted to launch into an expletive filled rant in order to defend myself, but I knew it wouldn’t do any good and would only solidify their position.  So I kept it to myself and I went on playing as if I was immune to their gabs questioning my parentage and my gaming skills in general.

Most of the time, I look down on those people who live and breathe any particular video game.  Those people who are five star generals two days after the latest Call of Duty is released.  Those people who obliviously have nothing else to do and nowhere to go but sit in their parent’s basement and play WOW for hours and hours on end.  I try to imagine the soulless, pale, pimple faced douche bags sitting there, surrounded by empty Cheetos bags and half empty bottles of Mountain Dew.  The socially inept individuals who have never even talked to a girl in their life.

But do not get me wrong, I identify with those types, they are MY people.  They are what I avoided becoming.  I am a gamer, I am proud to be a gamer and I will always be a gamer.  I also have a life and a job and a family and friends and other hobbies.  I escaped the eternal D&D game and ventured out into the real world and found there are adventures out there to be had as well.

I guess what I am trying to say is that being called a newbie, or giving out any level of abuse in a video game is immature at its finest.  I rank those people who thrive on making the uninitinated feel like lower forms of life with those who feel the need to cheat in order to win.  Are you so devoid of a soul that cheating to win in a video game is the only way to make you feel like a man?  Another type I cannot tolerate are those who would take advantage of another player either by full out lying or being deceptive.  I guess it can be said that if you are a jackass in the real world, you’re probably an extreme jackass in the virtual world.

I made a decision at the point I was being abused for not knowing what I was doing that I would not be that guy.  I wouldn’t flame an inexperienced player simply because they are new to the game.  In fact I intend to be just the opposite and help whoever I can whenever I can.  I am going to be a selfless in a world full of selfishness.  So for those who might read this, I say that you too should make an effort to not be a jackass those newbies, noobs or whatever you want to call them.  Be polite, be helpful because someday soon, YOU will be that new player and someone else will be pointing out your lack of skills.

Play often, play hard and play fair.

