In some kind of new marketing scheme put into place by my local comic store they slipped in some of the Blackest Night titles into my reserve box.  I have been reading Green Lantern for a while now, but was almost ready to give up on it because it was getting a little too weird for my tastes.

But then Batman died and things changed in the DC universe.  The Blackest Night is beginning and Green Lantern has gone from weird to creepy.  It is a little disturbing to see heroes you once looked up to rising from the dead and eating the hearts out of the living.

Unfortunately I began reading them a little out of order, but after reading Blackest Night #1, Blackest Night Batman 1 & 2 and the last three issues of Green Lantern, I am taken back to when I was a kid and watching those silly Bigfoot movies that scared the hell out of me.  Blackest Night actually has me looking over my shoulder as I read to make sure nothing is sneaking up on me.  I really had trouble sleeping last night after watching Hawkman and Hawkgirl get hacked to death by a superpowered zombie Enlongated Man.  It will be interesting to see who makes it through the carnage when it’s all over.

So now I am hooked into this story like you wouldn’t believe and I am once again interested in Green Lantern.  A lot has happened since Final Crisis and a lot has yet to happen.  Friends are now foes and everyone’s worst nightmares have come true.  I don’t think I will ever be able to get the image of Black Lantern holding the skull of Bruce Wayne licking the slime off of it out of my head.  Rest assured that Bruce Wayne has more to do with these events than we are aware of.

