I’ve decided that instead of filling up my personal Facebook page with links and other stuff that no one cares about; I will modify my occasional posting of The Word.  If you’ve been following my blog, and judging by the hit counter and followers section, you haven’t; I like to post cool and interesting stuff to help people get in touch with their inner nerd.  The Word will be a weekly posting every Thursday of all the neat things I’ve seen throughout the week and maybe even some of my own colorful commentary.  Now this is by no means my attempt to “steal” content from any other website, I am simply posting a link to the material; I do the work so you don’t have to.
This weeks first link is to the oatmeal.com.  This site has provided me and some of my co-workers with hours of entertainment and belly laughs.  The site’s creator Matthew Inman in my mind is a comic genius who deserves his own TV show, with his hilarious cartoons and polls.  Go see The Oatmeal here.
Next up is from lifehacker, one of my new favorite websites.  Facebook released yesterday a new app that lets you and your friends check in to locations, Foursquare-style.  A lot of people don’t like this and Facebook has been taking a lot of heat over privacy issues.  If you want to know how to disable this feature and maintain your privacy, check out this nifty how-to here.
The Word’s next link is also from lifehacker.  Ever wonder how or if you could set up SMS alerts on your Hotmail account?  Check out this how-to here.
Switching gears slightly for all of us gamers out there.  Razer has come up with another fine gaming keyboard.  This link is via Maximum PC.
Need help finding all those tweaks to make your Windows experience more enjoyable or to just put your own personal touch on your PC?  Tweak Me! is the a great portable app that puts the power in your hands without having to drill through endless screens.  You can even set up profiles for different configurations.  Download it here.
Restore some order to your jumbled or misplaced downloads with this list of 10 handy apps from Lifehacker.  Find the article on their website here.
Man Robs Taco Bell Dressed As Batman
Now this is just sad.  Some freak decides to rob a Taco Bell dressed as Batman.  Do people have no shame?  You can watch this pathetic loser via YouTube.

Lastly, this video has been around for a little while, but it’s still the coolest thing by far I’ve seen in a while.  Check out the trailer for the new DC Universe Online.

Okay kids, that’s The Word for this week.  Make sure you check back next week for another list of links and also keep an eye open for more posts.  As always, if you have a link you’d like to share, pass it along and I will post it in a future The Word.  If you like this or any other posts here on Word Of The Nerd, please leave me a comment or better yet, share the wealth with your friends.  I love spreading The Word.
