Giving you just a little bit of background info on me, I remember stuff I see and hear in movies and TV.  I can recite lines from Star Trek off the top of my head and remember tiny details about episodes.  Star Trek, Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, you name it and I’ve got lines and trivia locked inside my brain just dying to get out.  That being said, there is nothing more frustrating to me than to have someone quote something back at me and it’s wrong.  Along those lines, if they tell me I am wrong.  I may not have a photographic memory, but details about Trek and other things geek related get caught inside my brain and remain there.  The one thing that infuriates me is for people to question me when I know that I am right.  I am the type of person who will admit that I either do not know or am not absolutely sure about something before I take ownership of my comments.  But when I KNOW I am right, I will argue the point with someone until I am proven correct.

I have a co-worker who likes to spout out random lines from various movies in an effort to add some comic relief to the day.  He often gets his quotes wrong and it drives me absolutely insane.  I often correct him or I have to pretend I didn’t hear it to keep from grabbing and shaking him violently while shouting, “YOU’RE NOT SAYING IT RIGHT”!!! 

Now what got me on this little rant today is that I recently added a Spock Quote of the Day app to my blog.  I figured it would be neat for readers to look at when they visit and say to themselves, “Yeah, I remember that episode”.  But today I looked at it and even though the quote was correct, the source of the quote was wrong.  The more I looked at it, the more my eye started to twitch and I wanted to find the author of the app and give him or her the whatnot.  I even considered taking the app off of the page because if you’re going to do something like that, at least have the sense to check your facts before publishing it.  And in case you didn’t realize it was wrong, Spock said “If I were human, I believe my response would be go to hell, if I were human.”  He said that in Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country, not The Final Frontier.

