I am starting a new feature here on Word of the Nerd.  I will feature a new stand-up comedian that if you hadn’t already heard of, you should check out their work.  Yes, because I talk about them here, it means they’re awesome.  Seriously, I love stand-up comedy and this is a way I can bring my love of it to others.
The honor of being the first featured comedian will be Patton Oswalt.  Patton spend nine seasons on the CBS comedy The King of Queens playing Spence Olchin.  But he is also a very funny and very talented comedian and has done writing and voice work for literally dozens of projects.  I could go on and give you a bio full of tidbits on where he was born and where he went to school; but you can get all that from Wikipedia and never know why he’s funny or why you should listen to his stand-up.
After seeing him appear on The King of Queens, I was pleasantly surprised to find he also did stand up comedy and went looking for some of his material.  What I found wasn’t all that surprising, but I found his style of comedy fresh and extremely funny.  Patton draws on his own life experiences and blends them beautifully into his routine.  The mix of political satyr and sheer lunacy makes him almost heartwarming.  Patton is edgy to say the least and his total disdain for the establishment probably would turn him off to most people.  Being a huge fan of alternative comedy, I found him extremely funny.
Now I will warn you now, he isn’t suitable for the kids and can sometimes be down right shocking, which is one of the things I love about him.  To say things because they are funny, shocking or not, with little regard for what people might think is something that modern comedy is lacking.  There are a few comics out there that excel that this style of comedy, but I think because of that are robbed of the mass appeal that other comics enjoy.  Along with Brian Posehn, Maria Bamford, and Zach Galifinakis can be grouped into the “thinking man’s comics”.  In fact, you can catch Patton and the comics previously listed in a documentary titled The Comedians of Comedy that I highly recommend to anyone interested in alternative comedy.  Then you should pick up or download Patton’s first album Feelin’ Kinda Patton.

