Boy oh boy has it been a helluva week.  The start of the new NFL season, gas main explosions and probably the most important the ninth anniversary of the September 11 attacks.  Since I don’t want to dwell on all the sad and negative stuff for too long, let’s get to The Word for this week.  I’ve got a long list of great links for you, so here we go.
I cannot believe I left this out of last week’s Word, but I got into such a hurry to get it finished and posted I let this one slip past me.  I should have my nerd status taken away, but I think the little geek mafia may give me a pass on it this time.  September 8 marked the 44th birthday of Star Trek.  Yes my friends, 44 years ago last week the episode The Man Trap premiered in the 8:30 time slot on NBC.  It’s amazing, a show that originally started in 1966 is still going strong today.  As a life long fan of Star Trek, I’d like to thank the late Gene Roddenberry for sharing his vision with us.
The first images of January Jones as Emma Frost in the new X-Men: First Class have hit the Internet.  The Mad Men star is joining James McAvoy, Nicholas Hoult, Jennifer Lawrence, Caleb Landry Jones, Lucas Till, Edi Gathegi, Oliver Platt and Kevin Bacon.  X-Men: First Class is slated for release on June 3, 2011.  Check out the full set of images here.
New images from the set of Captain America: The First Avenger have also surfaced on the Internet.  Courtesy of The Daily Mail, the images show a stunt double riding on Cap’s motorcycle.  Check out all of the images here.
From the set of Transformers 3, director Michael Bay clears up rumors that the film is not being shot in 3D.  Bay wrote on his site, “Who is this moron posting about what I’m shooting with??? People have no idea how hard we have worked to bring 3D filming into live action shooting. We have invented rigs and systems to place 3d cameras like no other live action movie has done before. The proof will be noticed on the final product.”  The third installment in the Transformers series is slated for release on July 1, 2011. 
Get a preview of all the returning and new Sci-Fi shows coming this season via this update from blastr.  I’ve seen the first episode of Nikita and loved it and I am looking forward to the return of Big Bang Theory.  Check out the complete guide here.

Again from blastr, 10 of the best science fiction TV episodes that ever aired.  How The Best of Both Worlds from Star Trek The Next Generation didn’t make the list is beyond me.  Yes I know it was a two part episode but it is also on the list as the most popular TNG episode as voted on by fans.  Check out the list here.
Oh how I hate a cheater, in multiplayer online games even more so.  What’s the fun or the challenge of cheating?  Sure you win every single time, but are you that shallow a person that you have to resort to cheating in order to feel superior or even equal to other players?  Now Blizzard has the right idea; they catch you cheating at StarCraft II and you are banned permanently from multiplayer and single player content.  Take that hackers!  Read more about it here and please leave me your opinion on the matter in the comments section at the end of this blog.

Cats, to collar or not to collar?  It may not be as dangerous as you think.  Fellow cat lovers and owners should definitely read this.  Check out this very informative article courtesy of Lifehacker.  That’s really my cat Puck…isn’t he awesome?

This next one will leave you wanting to burn your mattress.  Students at Catawba College in Salisbury, NC were asked to move out of their dorm rooms due to an infestation of bedbugs.  I wonder if that was included in the price of tuition?  You can ready the full story here.
You can file this next story under “not very likely”.  Shaquille O’Neil is being sued for computer hacking.  Yes, you read that right, Shaq is an alleged computer hacker.  I highly doubt any of the allegations are true because I don’t think Shaq even knows what a computer is and if he did, he couldn’t use the keyboard because of his inhumanly sized hands.  Hopefully the plaintiff’s case isn’t built on Shaq’s ability to spell computer.  Read the full story here.
This next link is either too funny to laugh at or too stupid to even believe, but this is an actual trailer to an actual book that was written, published and released last month.  Take a look at Night of the Living Trekkies here.
Now this just tears my childhood memories apart and is actually kind of sad.  Billie Mae Richards, the actress who provided the voice of Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer passed away Friday, she was 88.  Anyone born after 1965 should remember watching it at Christmas time and if you didn’t, you have no soul.  Read the full story here.
On a much lighter note, scientists in Australia have created a working tractor beam.  At last my dreams of sitting in the center seat on the bridge of a starship are closer to reality.  Now just remember, you never leave spacedock without a tractor beam.  Read the full story here.
That segways beautifully into this next story.  Boeing plans to offer space tourism flights as soon as 2015.  I’m sorry, but until they create a transportation device that won’t accidentally mutate me into a human/fly hybrid, I will keep my feet firmly on the ground and stay out of space and strange looking telepods.  But if you have a few extra million dollars laying around, you can read about it here.
Now only the really hardcore comic book nerds should remember Atlas Comics, but if you don’t it was around for like two seconds in the mid-70s.  Marvel founder Martin Goodman sold the company in 1968 only to form Atlas Comics in 1974 with the sole goal to take down Marvel.  Needless to say it didn’t work and lasted barely a year before folding in June of 1975.  Well Marvel’s arch nemesis is getting ready to relaunch and classic titles like Phoenix and The Grim Ghost will be available once again.  You can read more about it  here courtesy of G4.com.

Watchmen creator Alan Moore said in a recent interview that comics have been in decline since the 1986 release of his graphic novel.  I don’t know what self-righteous hole his dipstick just crawled out of but as good as it was, that was 25 years ago and in my ever so humble opinion they have only gotten better.  Watchmen redefined how comics were made and perceived, but Watchmen was far from the pinnacle.  You can read the full interview here.

In this week’s How To Corner you’ll see how you can keep up with working from multiple devices and how to monitor your PC hardware.

     1.  How to Keep Your Workflow in Sync Across Computers
     2.  How to Keep an Eye on Your Hardware with HWMonitor

For the gamers, a report from Maximum PC on SSDs linked to gaming performance.  I for one never had any doubt that the numbers would support such a theory, but are SSDs stable and proven enough to be long term solutions?  Check out the full article here and decided for yourself.

I love photo manipulations and over at Rabbitooth there are dozens of great Star Trek manipulations for your enjoyment.  Some of my personal favorites are the steampunk TOS crew that can be found here.

LEGO + DC Superheroes = AWESOME.  Check them out here.

Photo Of The Week

Iron Man.  See if full size here.

And that is The Word for this week.  I’d like to thank everyone for reading and leaving me your great comments, keep them coming because I love to hear from you.  If you have anything you want to see posted on The Word, send me an email with the info and I will be happy to check it out.  Have a great weekend everyone.

The Nerd says, “If Doctor Doom’s picture was on a bottle of wine, I’d buy it”.
