I was able to watch All-Star Superman over the weekend and I have to say that overall I was a little disappointed, but that shouldn’t keep you from watching this latest installment in DC’s line of animated films.

After a trip to the sun to save a group of scientists, Superman finds out that the overexposure to the sun is destroying his cells from within.  The same thing that has increased his strength, intelligence and curiosity is also killing him.  Superman decides to reveal his secret identity to Lois Lane who after some skeptism accepts that Clark Kent is also Superman.  He takes her to the Fortress of Solitude and shares everything about his remarkable life.  From there they embark on a series of adventures; but danger is never far away.  Lex Luthor about to be executed for crimes against humanity finds a way to strike at the Man of Steel one last time.  The two bitter foes fight a battle not only for Superman’s life, but for the entire world.

Never having been a fan of the All-Star Superman comics, I will admit that I was a little biased when I sat down to watch the movie.  At first I thought that animation was sub-par to DC’s previous films, but it grew on me.  The movie was animated in the same style as the comic series which gave it a more endearing quality.  The story was basically good, but I found that even for Superman, there were just too many perils for one movie.  Enemies and dangers were flowing out of the woodwork, barely giving you time to catch your breath before the next fight started.

Most of the scenes with Superman and Lois I thought made the film.  Lois’ early refusal to believe that Clark Kent could be Superman was humorous and the later confessions of their feeling for each other were heartwarming.  The fact that the story centered around Superman slowly dying made a lot of the moments more meaningful than just watching him leap tall buildings.  I mean you know he’s going to win, he’s Superman.  But knowing that he could be his last act on Earth made it seem more powerful.

I started out not liking this film, but by the time it was over I was almost crying.  Superman’s last act saving the world and Lois Lane’s final words made what seemed like a lackluster film in the beginning into one that I am sure I will want to watch again and again.

All-Star Superman stars the voice talents of James Denton (Desperate Housewives) as Superman, Christina Hendricks (Mad Men) as Lois Lane, Anthony LaPaglia as Lex Luthor and Ed Asner as Perry White.

