Don’t let the title fool you.  I love my iPad like a mother loves her newborn child.  But after the reveal of the iPad 2 yesterday I am looking at mine in a different light.

On one hand we’ve got new hotness that is the iPad2.  It’s thinner, lighter, comes in your choice of two colors, has a front and rear camera, a faster processor, HDMI out and a few other neat things.

On the other hand we’ve got old and busted that is my first gen iPad.  It’s got none of the things listed above and although it really shouldn’t matter to me, it does.  The new one is better and no self respecting nerd would be satisfied with nothing less than the latest and greatest.  It is now inferior and no longer all that appealing to me.

Now the challenge lies before me.  I test new equipment at work, it’s one of the very nice perks I get.  I put the time and effort into testing new gadgets to see if they would be a benefit to productivity.  The downside to this perk is that I have to support that equipment if it goes into service; a small price to pay in my opinion.  Since the iPad was purchased by my job, how can I convince my boss to justify the $500 to buy me the iPad2?  How can I angle my approach so that he sees the benefit?

The good thing is we running a pilot program to see if the iPad is a viable solution for remote and traveling users.  So far the only ones interested are upper management who more than likely just want a new toy to play with.  What better excuse than to have their employer pay for it?

But even if I out right owned my iPad, the sight of the new one has stirred waves of envy and jealousy.  You remember from a previous post when I described what that was like for us nerds.  Bottom line is that’s it’s better, it’s newer, it’s shiny and I want a new one.

Given the fact that my wife will NEVER sign off on me spending over $500 for essentially a gadget with no real use; talking my boss into it seems like the better option.  Another option would to show it off unending to my wife until I have her wanting one and then spend $1000 to get each of us one.  I already have her sold on an iPhone, so what’s another $1000 in the grand scheme?

So what do I actually do with my iPad?  That is a question I am really afraid to answer and post out on the Internet for all to read, but here goes.  Beyond testing it for work applications, I play a lot of Angry Birds.  If you haven’t played that game, you really need to get off your ass and get it on whatever platform you have available.  

Another use I have for it recently is the new DirecTV app.  I can control my DVR from the comfort of my recliner or office chair without have to interrupt what I am watching on TV.  You might be asking yourself, “Is that what the remote does?”  Well yeah, the remote can do all that, but the iPad app is way cooler so don’t judge me.

So the question remains, will I get an iPad2?  My boss has one of the best poker faces around so I am not sure if my poking and prodding is getting to him or not.  It’s pretty safe to assume that we will not be there on release day to pick one up, so I have a good two weeks to convince him.  My hopes my rest in the two gentlemen in upper management who got all this started.  If they insist on getting the iPad2 and I am expected to support them, then it’s only logical that I too have one.


The problem with that is whether my boss, who is extremely budget conscience and a bit of a tight wad, will convince the powers that be to use the now cheaper first gen iPad.  Will the added features be worth the added cost?  Fast and lighter may only go so far.  We’ve already established that the camera will probably be of no benefit.  So for now I am stuck holding my breath waiting for the decision to be made.


Graphic Source: Engadget

iPad
iPad 2
Display 9.7-inch
LED-backlit IPS LCD
9.7-inch
LED-backlit IPS LCD
Resolution 1024 x 768 1024 x 768
Processor 1GHz Apple A4 1GHz dual-core Apple A5
Graphics PowerVR SGX 535 ?
Memory 256MB RAM ?
Storage 16GB / 32GB / 64GB 16GB / 32GB / 64GB
Front camera none VGA
Rear camera none 720p
Cellular radio EDGE plus triband HSPA EDGE plus quadband HSPA or
CDMA / EV-DO Rev. A
WiFi 802.11a/b/g/n 802.11a/b/g/n
Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR 2.1 + EDR
Accelerometer 3-axis 3-axis
Gyroscope No 3-axis
Thickness 13.4mm 8.8mm
Weight 680g (WiFi),
730g (WiFi + 3G)
601g (WiFi),
607g (Verizon),
613g (AT&T)
