Uncle George is at it again kids.  Not only is he releasing all six Star Wars movies on BluRay, which as far as I am concerned is way overdue; but now all six movies will be re-released in theaters in 3D.  Are you ready to see Jar Jar Binks in 3D?  Will it make Hayden Christensen a better actor?  I think not.

Starting next year, all six movies will be hitting theaters in order from Episode 1 to 6.  The six year release schedule will kick off on February 12, 2012 with The Phantom Menace.  Future release dates have not yet been announced, but look for them around the same time the following years.

Given how absolutely dreadful episodes 1 through 3 were I am not sure I’d want to subject myself to that kind of torture even if it’s in 3D.  I imagine that being in 3D will only remind everyone just how bad those movies are.  George Lucas should have been put on trial for crimes against humanity for making episodes 1-3.

So now in order to pay for his kids’ college education, he is cashing in once again by forcing us to buy yet another copy of the original trilogy.  I think in my lifetime I have owned four different versions/formats of the Star Wars movies.  Then on top of buying the BluRay releases, I have a sneaking suspicion that I will be shelling out ten dollars or more to see the 3D releases.  When will it stop George?

You have to give George credit though.  He has milked that franchise for every single drop possible since 1977.  Anything even slightly Star Wars related he gets a cut of.  We as fans and consumers eat it up.  Do we buy it because we like it or is it that we’re just use to it?  I don’t own as many copies of the White album as I do the Star Wars movies; and yes I still have every copy.

The bright spot of this whole thing is that I am very eager to see episodes 4-6, which just about anyone would agree are the best of the saga.  The very idea of seeing The Empire Strikes Back in 3D stirs a feeling in my loins that only a fellow nerd could describe or appreciate.  The Battle of Hoth and the chase in the asteroid field in 3D will be a spectacular sight to see.  At the end of the day though, is it really necessary?

We’ve all seen the Star Wars movies hundreds of times.  We know them all by heart and nothing is there to really surprise us any more.  Lucas took it about as far as he could with the Special Edition release and short of just completely filming them over again, there isn’t anything left to get out of them.  I love the Star Wars movies (episodes 4-6) but I don’t know how much more I can take.

I have yet to be sold on the whole 3D phenomenon and I am waiting for its eventual demise.  I will admit that the technology has gotten a lot better since the days of the cardboard glasses with the red and blue lenses.  I saw Avatar in 3D and was blown away by it.  But that doesn’t mean I am going to see everything in 3D; some movies just don’t translate.  James Cameron had 3D in mind when he shot Avatar and it showed in every frame.  George Lucas filmed his movies in 2D and they were amazing.  Let’s leave it at that.

 

