It’s been known for a few weeks now that Diane Lane had been signed to play Martha Kent in the upcoming reboot of Superman.  Rumors have been floating around for a month about Kevin Costner’s interest in being cast as Jonathan Kent.

Those rumors were confirmed; Kevin Costner has signed on to star in Zack Snyder’s Superman film.

I’m not sure I am okay with this.  I like Kevin Costner, I just don’t see him as the Pa Kent type.  To me Costner has always had an ego and I don’t know how he will mesh into a film where he isn’t the pivotal character.

I will say this, after doing some looking around, I think the two look great together and should at least look good in the movie.

The film’s director Zack Snyder had this to say, “Jonathan Kent is the only father figure Clark has ever had, the man who was there to help Clark understand what he was meant to do in the world as Superman. Kevin will be able to communicate the quiet strength of this rural American man who raised the greatest superhero of all time.”

The title of the film is rumored (not yet confirmed) to be Superman: Man of Steel and is slated for release December 2012.

