Oh yes, you read it right.  Welcome to the return of The Word.  I got away from doing one large weekly post because it got too difficult for me to get it out consistently on time.  But today since there has been all kind of nerd goodies popping up all over the interwebs, I decided to try and bring it back.

I’ve been gearing up to make some changes to Word of the Nerd.  I now have a Twitter account that I post from and I am planning on doing semi-regular video blogs.  We’ll see how all that turns out.  Anyway, if you want to follow me on Twitter, there is a link on the page.  Be warned that the Twitter feed isn’t family friendly and doesn’t always contain nerdtastic stuff.

Movie Nerd

Ryan Reynolds talks about Green Lantern sequel

We all know it’s coming.  The unavoidable confrontation between Hal Jordan and Sinestro.  The rumor mill hasn’t been turning out too many details on a sequel and it probably waiting to see how the first film does before hopes of a sequel get too high.  Check out the interview with MTV News here.

The Dark Knight Rises Possible Spoilers

Fans may get their wish granted if the rumored spoilers of The Dark Knight Rises are true.  According to sources, Bane and Bruce Wayne will have a confrontation that ends with Bane breaking Bruce’s back.  Of course nothing has been or probably will be confirmed by Warner Bros so just take this as rumor.  How awesome would it be to see that happen?  Source: Comic Book Movie

1978 Lois Lane Auditions

Rank this one up there as AWESOME.  After all these years we get to see how other actresses auditioned for the role of Lois Lane in the 1979 Superman: The Movie.  I never liked Margot Kidder in the role and would have loved to see another actress get the part.  But what the hell did I know at the time, I was 9?  Check out the video below.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/swf/vidobj/sunplayer.swf?embedCode=0wOXFpMjpyzZCSxsv-qyCkogG3f86g2s&xmlDir=http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/swf/vidobj/xml/sun&links=http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/video/showbiz/film-biz/3630646/Unseen-Superman-video.html&share=true

Transformers: DOTM Wreckers Posters

The robot mode of the sunglass and mullet wearing Autobot Wreckers have been revealed.  God I hope they aren’t as lame and stereotypical as the Twins from Revenge of the Fallen.  Check them out here.

Computer Nerd

Does Bitrate Really Make A Difference In My Music?

You’ve probably heard the terms “lossless” or “lossy” thrown around when it comes to MP3s or ripping CDs.  But do you really understand what they mean?  Bitrate most certainly makes a difference and the great folks at Lifehacker explain it all to you.  Check it out here.

Clean Up Your Dropbox Cache Folder

I recently started using and fell in love with Dropbox.  Since I’ve been using it, I’ve almost forgotten about my now lonely and somewhat dusty flash drives.  Here is a great tip again from Lifehacker on how to keep your cache folder from getting too large.  Check it out here.

Gaming Nerd

Game of Thrones…the Game

And why not make a game out of it?  Game of Thrones is one of the hottest new series on TV right now.  Based on George R. R. Martin’s series of books, the series premiered on HBO in the spring.  Since then it has been getting ever increasing ratings.  I for one had never read any of the books, but was blown away by the series.  I am now reading the books to help better understand the show.  There are also talks of making a video game for PC based on the series that has potential.  We’ll see how all that plays (no pun intended) out.  Check out the trailer for the game below.

Far Cry 3 Demo

Much to my dismay, they are making Far Cry 3.  I was a HUGH fan of the original Far Cry and had very high expectations of Far Cry 2.  Sadly it didn’t live up to the hype and I quickly dismissed it to the shelve of forgotten games.  Let’s hope the third installment lives up to the original.  Check out the trailer here.

Pure Nerd

Katy Perry Lets Her Geek Flag Fly

Even with the headgear and huge glasses, I find her pretty hot.  I don’t hate Katy Perry, but some of her choices for songs makes me want to hunt her down and beat her violently.  I almost lost an eardrum because of California Girls.  Anyway, Miss Perry has created an alter-ego to go along with her newest single Last Friday Night (TGIF).  The videos are amusing at the very least and will hopefully spawn a number of spoofs and maybe a segment on Tosh.0.

Well hey, that was easy.  Another edition or in this case “new” edition of The Word is in the history books.  I forgot how actually time consuming putting together a post like this is; but I enjoyed every second of it.  Have a great weekend everyone!

