I haven’t said much about the new G.I. Joe movie up until now because I’ve been a little disappointed with the casting.  I reported months ago that many of the characters from the first movie were not returning in the sequel.  In fact the only characters to have survived the axe were Duke, Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow.  I was most disappointed to hear that Dennis Quaid was not returning as General Hawk.

I’ve also had my issues with the hiring of the director for this film.  A director whos credits involve only dance movies (Step Up 3D and Never Say Never) up until now.  This will be his first action movie and I for one have serious doubts about his skills.  Hopefully I am wrong about this but I fear that this G.I. Joe sequel will be far worse the the original.  I liked the original film, but not having some of most popular characters from the first film (Scarlett, Destro and Baroness) return for the sequel is disheartening.

There was some big casting news this week surrounding the film.  Action movie veteran Bruce Willis is in talks to appear as the commanding officer and original G.I. Joe Genreal Joe Colton.  It was also announced just this morning that Justified star Walton Goggins has also signed on the film.  More interesting however is the casting of The Rock (Dwayne Johnson) as Roadblock.  An action movie vet in his own right, it will be interesting to see how Johnson handles the role of such an iconic G.I. Joe character, hopefully with the silly rhyming left out.

Filming of the sequel began today and the news was accompanied with a Twitter photo of Johnson as Roadblock from the set.  G.I. Joe: Retaliation opens in theaters on June 29, 2012, is directed by Jon Chu and also stars Channing Tatum, Ray Park, Elodie Yung, RZA, DJ Cotrona, Adrianne Palicki, Ray Stevenson and Joseph Mazzello.

