Yours truly, The Nerd will be traveling to Atlanta GA in two weeks to attend DragonCon 2011.  This is my first big ‘con of this type and I am really excited to be attending.  In addition to attending for my own personal satisfaction, I will be covering the event for Comic Booked.

I spent the weekend buying necessary items and supplies for my trip which included a comfortable pair of new shoes for the miles of walking and standing in line; and a digital voice recorder for interviews and blog notes.  I am praying that I get a decent signal on my BlackBerry so I will be able to upload mobile posts from my phone.

This will also be my wife’s first adventure to a big time ‘con so I am very curious to see how she acclimates to the environment of geeks, nerds, cosplayers, fanboys and fangirls.  She is my official photographer for all the events I attend for WOTN and Comic Booked.  She was on the Internet yesterday buying a new Wonder Woman t-shirt to wear.

I was hoping to be able to see and meet some of my brethren from Comic Booked, but I don’t think anyone else is attending this year.  I will however get to meet a few people from Charlotte Geeks.  I’m excited to see some familiar faces and make some new friends.  My wife is hoping to get to meet or at least see Joe Manganiello from True Blood.

One thing I am a little disappointed about is I won’t have the new website logo ready in time to have some t-shirts made up to wear.  The firm I have designing the logo won’t have it ready in time for me to get the shirts made.  The logo is coming soon and I am stoked to see how it turned out.  I got word last week that the rough sketches should be ready sometime this week for me too look over and approve.

So if you are planning on attending DragonCon this year, leave me a comment or shoot an email.  I’d like to meet some of my readers face to face.

