Hello Nerdites! Here is your daily dish on all things geek!

The Lizard Concept Art

This concept art was released for Rhys Ifans’ Lizard in the upcoming Spider-Man reboot. The movie scheduled for release on July 3, 2012 is an updated take on the character and will star Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Denis Leary, Campbell Scott, Rhys Ifans, Martin Sheen, and Sally Field. Via Spidermedia.ru

This movie appears to be a more serious take on the character than anything before. I just hope that they do not forget that Spider-Man is a wise cracking kid and it supposed to have some humor in it. I am about over the whole angst ridden Spidey bit. I have included the trailer as well.

Action Comics #1 Up For Auction

Fox News has a report about an Action Comics #1 that is set to go to auction today. The book is expected to break the previous sale record of 1.5 million dollars. This particular copy is currently the highest rated copy in the CGC census coming in at a 9.0. The book was originally lost 11 years ago when it was stolen from a collector and then was found last April when someone bought a storage unit and the comic was inside. Due to confidentiality issues the auction site ComicConnect.com cannot tell us who the owner was, but it is probably not a coincidence that Nicholas Cage had his Action Comics #1 stolen from him in 2000, it might be though. Either way this is a super awesome find, and if you happened to have recently won the lottery then buy this comic, and then adopt me!

Man Finds Rare Comic In Attic

In a similar story that appeared last week via LaGrangePatch, a man in Illinois was rummaging through his attic and found an Amazing Fantasy #15. The book featuring the first appearance of everyone’s friendly neighborhood Spider-man, is expected to sell for approximately $12,000. This is much less than the 1.2 million other copies have sold for, but hey this was laying around in a stack of comics in an attic for who knows how long, it is not going to be mint. It seems to be that I really need to go out and start rummaging through other people’s crap! 

Henry Cavil Talks About Being Superman

Also last week the LA Times’ Hero Complex released an interview with Henry Cavil the soon to me Man of Steel. The interview covered the actor’s view of the character and the weight of portraying such an icon. In an interesting comment we come to learn that Cavil also learned a lot from the Red Son storyline. He talks about how the opposing view of Kal-El helps him to find what the writers felt were the most important aspects to his personality. This seems to give me pause. I for one do not feel that Mark Millar was trying to give an opposing view, in as much as he was trying to show us that Superman’s ideals are both his greatest strength and his greatest weakness. I always felt it seemed to highlight how important morality is to Superman and in turn how important his raising was in creating the hero he would become. Either way we shall see how this effects Cavill’s take on the character when the movie releases June 14, 2013. 

Muppets: A Movie for Adults?

In other movie news The Muppets domination last week was not enough to knock off sparkly vampires, but it did earn 42.3 million over the holiday weekend. If you have not yet seen Disney’s reboot, then you should as it is fantastic. Interestingly it graded much older than one might expect with only 35% of the audience under the age of 18. This does not surprise me as I think I enjoyed it more than my kids. I think I might have teared up at least 3 times during the movie. If there is a flaw it is only that Kermit did not sing Being Green. Everything else was perfect!

Anne McCaffery Passes

Lastly an obituary I am devastated to write. Last week all of geekdom lost a great in Anne McCaffery. The author of the long running and popular Dragons of Pern books died at age 85 from a stroke. Her books where among my first fantasy books and are probably an expansive shadowed only by the greats like Lord of the Rings and The Wheel of Time. I am particularly partial to Ms. McCaffery as she was nice enough to email back and forth with me when I was younger. My mother worked for her nephew and I was luckily enough to interact with her and she was amazing. To imagine a person as famous as she taking her time to email a little kid half a world away, is what fandom is all about. I am saddened by this news greatly and know that you will all share with me in missing such a wonderful writer and person.

By Jason Padua

